Pat McCrory, Governor

Frank L. Perry, Secretary

Governor's Task Force on Safer Schools 3010 Hammond Business Place Raleigh, NC 27603 December 4, 2013

Task Force Members <u>Guests</u> Molly Parker Chair, Chip Hughes Tony Lee Comm. David Guice Vice Chair, Jim MacCallum Doug Coley Steve Lapiano **Buddy Collins** Susie Reeves Derek Graham Dale Cole Mark Martin Ann McColl Karin Evanoff Mark Strickland Greg Baker Bill Chamberlain Tv Davis Mike Anderson Mary Jane Ferguson Andrew Larowe Sheriff Robert Holland Matt Knight **DPS Staff** Wendy Jordan Dick Haves Jeffrey Rink Tom Kilby Christina Minard Denise Briggs Dir. Rob Kindsvatter Andrew Cagle George Dudley Dr. Ben Matthews Kimberly Williams Diana Kees Susan Robinson Greta Metcalf Julie Singer Lisa Partin Evonne Moore Sonva Brown Janet Pueschel Joe Pass Pam Hoggard Sec. Frank Perry Joe Prater Kvm Martin Chad Rorie Pam Walker William Lassiter Luke Stancil Gary Bell Martin Pharr

- Chip Hughes started the meeting at 10:17 am and thanked everyone for attending. Gave overview of goals and mission of task force. Secretary Perry was recognized and thanked for being in attendance. Also recognized were Commissioner David Guice, Joe Prater, Dep. Comm. for Administration, Mark Strickland with the Justice Academy, Commissioner Greg Baker, Jan Pueschel with the ABC Commission, Gary Bell, Deputy Commander with the Highway Patrol. There are 3 steering committees: 1) Physical Security and Emergency Preparedness-comprised of many law enforcement members, Sheriff Holland is the Chair, 2) Mental Health and students with special needs, Greta Metcalf is the Chair, 3) School climate and discipline, Dr. Ben Matthews is the chair. Executive Director Kym Martin was also recognized. Secretary Perry was introduced to speak.
- Sec. Perry described the overall mission of the N.C. Center for Safer Schools and the recommendations contained within the Center's 2013 Report to the Governor.
- The Hon. Mark Martin administered the oath of office to the members of the task force.

MAILING ADDRESS: 4212 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-4212



3010 Hammond Business Pl. Raleigh, NC 27603 Telephone: (919 733-3388 Fax: (919) 715-2275

www.ncdps.gov

An Equal Opportunity employer

• Kym Martin and Billy Lassiter gave an overview of the N.C. Center for Safer Schools, along with a presentation on school safety concerns in North Carolina. The presentation included information on the creation of the Center; the Center's spring 2013 statewide forums/listening sessions; development of the 2013 Report to the Governor; and creation of the Task Force for Safer Schools. Martin shared that some of the Center's current activities are the development of a smartphone app for anonymous reporting; the establishment of four staff positions within the center; the development of a web-based emergency planning tool, and meetings with key stakeholders.

Lassiter discussed issues such as the physical security of schools; the roles of resource officers; programs for students; and debunked school and youth violence myths.

- Chairman Chip Hughes released the group for a break and explained to members how steering committees would be formed. The committees are 1) Physical security and emergency preparedness, 2) Mental Health and students with special needs and 3) School climate and discipline.
- Dr. Ben Matthews, the Director of Safe and Healthy Schools in the Department of Public Instruction provided an update on the school resource officer and panic alarm grants.
- John Dorman, the Program Director of the Geospatial and Technology Management office at N.C. Emergency Management, reported on the web-based school emergency plan.
- The Chair and Vice-Chair named the task force members to committees.
 - Physical security and Emergency Preparedness Sheriff Robert Holland-Chair Buddy Collins Jim MacCallum Chad Rorie Tyree Davis

2) Mental health and students with special needs

Greta Metcalf-Chair Chris Minard

Tom Kilby Sonya Brown
Evonne Moore Susan Robinson
Rod Kindsvatter Wendy Jordan

 School Climate and discipline Ben Matthews-Chair Luke Stancil Joe Pass Dale Cole Karin Evanoff Mary Jane Ferguson

New Business

2014 Task Force meetings will be held in March, June and September, at locations around the state to be determined.

- Chairman Hughes appointed Chief Tony Lee from Trent Woods Police Department,
 Special Agent Matt Knight, Trooper Jeff Rink and Trooper Doug Coley to the Physical Security and Emergency Preparedness Steering Committee.
- Executive Director Kym Martin recommended Sonya Brown and Susan Robinson to the Mental Health and Students with Special Needs Steering Committee.
- The Chairman asked the Committee Chairs to advise him and the Vice-Chair when the committees are going to meet so he can plan to attend.
- Brief introduction of members.
- Chairman Hughes asked all members to educate their respective local entities about the Safer Schools Task Force and when the committees are meeting and to get them involved.
- Chairman Hughes asked for a motion to adjourn, which came from Dr. Ben Matthews with a second from Sheriff Holland. The meeting adjourned at 2:20 p.m.